Wheat proteins consist of gluten and wheat specific proteins. As gluten is not water soluble, we have to extract gluten with alcohol and to test gluten in an extra cavity. This cavity does not contain the other water soluble proteins of wheat. Accordingly, the wheat cavity does not contain the gluten molecule. So these are two completely different tests and it is possible to be sensitized to either of them or both of them. In the first case, only one allergen (gluten or wheat) is tested positive and in the second case wheat and gluten are positive.

Did this answer your question?