Cereal extracts only contain water soluble proteins while gluten is only soluble in alcohol – that means cereal extracts only contain cereal specific proteins and no gluten.

The consequence: If you don’t show a reaction to gluten, but react to different sorts of flour then there is an intolerance to the specific proteins of the flours. This is quite rare. If there is the case, then it means that you have to avoid the flours in question even if an intolerance to gluten hasn’t been detected.

Did this answer your question?